Churches Council

The authority for the Association of Baptist Churches in Ireland rests with the churches themselves. Each church is permitted to appoint at least 2 representatives who collectively will form the Churches' Council. The Council meets twice in a year and appoints the Association Officers, Directors and Committees, approves the policy and practice of the Association and reviews the work undertaken on its behalf.

Executive Committee

Consisting of 18 Church Representatives appointed by the Council the Executive Committee is responsible for overseeing the work of the Association between meetings of the Council.

Department Management Committees

The Churches' Council also appoints management committees to oversee the work of the various ministries of the Association.

John Gault

John Gault

Association President

John has served the Larne Baptist Church as pastor for over 22 years. Prior to this he was pastor of Onchan Baptist Church, Isle of Man. John is married to Hazel.

Alan Baird

Alan Baird

Vice President

Alan is currently a member of the Emmanuel Baptist Church in Lisburn, where he recently held the position of Interim Pastor. He is a graduate of IBC and has served as Pastor in the Dungannon and Millisle Churches. He served as the Pastoral Studies tutor at IBC from 2007 to 2014. Alan has served as Association President on one previous occasion in 2000-2001. Alan is married to Meta.